Top

Testimonials

Dec 17, 2012
On behalf of the Werner Team I just wanted to take a minute to say thank you SO much for loaning Taylor the boards for Costa Rica. Yesterday I had one of the top 20 surf sessions of my life, and it was on your 9’3”. Being the first time I have ever ridden your boards, I am now a believer. After a while I was so lost in the session, and how well I was surfing on the board, I had completely forgotten that I was on an inflatable. You are far and away building the best inflatables out there, amazing work and much respect to you and your R&D and production staff.

High tide is this afternoon at 3:00! Can’t wait to go again.

Happy Holidays to you and all the best in 2013.

Daniel P. Mongno, Werner Paddles Regional Sales Manager

 

Feb 7, 2011
I have been in Puerto for almost a month. The Steamroller board and leash arrived sometime while I was gone. I inflated the board and am super impressed with everything about it, the construction, the shape, the weight, etc. etc. It is going to be awesome. I used an inflatable NRS Paddle board when I was down in Puerto and it was decent but the design on the ULI looks far superior and assembled with way more craftsmanship. I can tell just by looking at the rocker on it that it will be a much better surfer than the NRS. I am stoked to have both as me and others will be riding rivers stand up style out here in Montana this summer. The Uli will also be the one I take on all my coastal trips.

Vince, Montana

 

May 25, 2010
Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much I love the Lopez GX-1. I have had the board for a couple of months now and had it out in medium surf and flat water. The board is constructed very well. The pump works awesome, 17 PSI no problem. The board surfs much better than I expected it to. There is a little bit of a learning curve but once you get it dialed in the board is just great fun.

I ride my board in Okinawa, Japan. I also have an 11’6″ epoxy board. My wife and kids are getting into surfing so I needed another board. Surf boards here are very expensive, most SUPs are over $2300, so the ULI was just what I needed. Okinawa, Japan is 99% reef breaks, only 2-3 semi-sand breaks so having a board that can take a beating is key.

I have had a lot of people interested in my board, and the price, so you might see some more orders coming from Japan soon.

Matthew Vogel, Okinawa, Japan

 

March 20, 2009
Dear Jim & Co…. I bought an 11 ft Uli SUP from Jupiter paddle boards and I have to say the board is amazing.
I took it down to my house in the Grenadines and had a blast. I am leaving the board there for use when I am not windsurfing or surfing.

The board, pump, and paddle fit perfectly in a duffle bag and didn’t cost me an extra nickle flying it down to my house. It was hard to believe I had an 11 ft board in my luggage.

Inflating the ULi was easy and I was able to get the board really stiff. It certainly doesn’t feel like an inflatable. The board floats and paddles really well and is so fast. I found myself knee paddling for a lot of waves, and I also found that when the wind was directly in my face, knee paddling made a lot more sense and allowed me to glide through the chop and wind with ease. Down winders standing up were great fun and the board really flies.

This board catches waves very easily and feels so solid underfoot. It doesn’t carve as well as a fiberglass or epoxy board, but for the price and simplicity of traveling with this board who cares. I was a bit skeptical at first and read every blog, review, post and watched every Steamroller video on youtube a dozen times before I bit the bullet.

You have an amazing product and I look forward to years and years of use. These boards are so well built they seem almost bulletproof. Anyway thanks so much for designing yet another water toy for me to play with. I just had to write and tell you how stoked I am. Keep up the good work.

Don McDowell ,Bequia, St.Vincent & Grenadines, West Indies

 

March 26, 2010
Well here is the verdict…I jumped on Tom’s English’s 10-0 Lopez X-1 (quad) today for all of 20-minutes and immediately ran in to order one from Jim at ULI! What a great board to add to the quiver that allows me to take my paddling and surfing virtually anywhere.

TE has a quad fin setup as opposed to the standard 2+1, but Jim was more than eager to craft up a quad for me as well. In fact, I’ll have it in my hands this coming Wednesday; even despite the customization. Jim, I hope my not stepping out of bounds here and cause you headaches with custom requests, but I feel this speaks volumes to your customer service.

Here are few comments from my brief encounter. I’m 6’0” and 165-lbs and consider myself an intermediate waterman. Conditions were 3-4+ and semi-chop at George’s just south of Cardiff Reef, CA.

-The board is very light but not fragile feeling at all. Its apparent how it holds up to Steamroller’s pickup truck driving over it or it’s crashing into the jetty rocks at Ovaroks; no worries! Comes with paddle cords that allow the paddle to be used as a handle for carrying.

-There is an obvious difference in feel under feet compared to a normal board. Noticeable flex and added buoyancy, but a very stable platform. The mind is quick to account for this difference in feel and your stabilizer muscles take over quickly to settle the platform. I felt like I’ve logged hours on the board within minutes of my first experience. Easy to feel confident with the ULI.

-Very easy to ride over the whitewater once you get a hang of the added buoyancy feel. Very limited leash pull during a fall on the wave or are swimming and have to dive a breaking wave.

-Flat water paddling was surprisingly easy as I achieved significant glide per stroke. Position on the board is more critical than normal to get a solid planing effect. The board has a soft feel underfoot and tends to absorb more water disturbances while giving the rider plenty of feedback.

-I still need work on finding the sweet spot for an efficient tail spin but did manage to get around in plenty of time for a two stroke entry.

-with proper weight placement and positioning (somewhat forward), the Lopez shape just wanted to jump in and catch the wave and then eagerly waits for you to engage the rail for a proper bottom turn! I was pleasantly surprised to experience this during my first time out and in semi-chop conditions. I can’t wait to experience a clean face in my near future. I was expecting to have to force the issue a bit but no need.

ULI has a brilliant design and is quickly recognizable as soon as you see it. Send me your questions and I’ll give you my honest opinion from my first encounters with the ULI Lopez X-1. You can’t go wrong here!

A big thank you to Tom English for his generosity and time today; have a great time in Hawaii next week!

Cheers!

Woody, Encinitas, California

 

March 22, 2010

When I bought my 1st (of 3) inflatables I had the good fortune to choose an ULI.

From my first contact with Jim, Chris and the guys back in 2007 I could not have wished for better service or a better product.

Firstly if they say they are going to do it – they do.
Secondly if they say the product works – it does.

They seem to have amassed a loyal almost cult following as a result of the way that they do business. I had the pleasure of meeting Jim Weir this January in Costa Rica. Top bloke – funny as hell and instantly puts you at ease and makes you feel part of the ‘ULI family’. The Uli guys seem to concentrate on product, the worst thing they do is sell themselves. Some brands seem to be the total opposite, BIG on words short on delivery.

I have never met Clinton (Steamroller) but it was his videos that persuaded me to get one in the first place and I’m sure a lot of other people besides, and I would bet that he started off as an ULI customer. Such is the brand loyalty. Uli don’t make hard boards with a couple of blowups tacked on the side of their range as an aside. If I could only have one board it would be the ULI Lopez – I have six SUP boards in my boardroom ranging from 7’8 to 10′ – 2 ULI’s a C4 10′, a Naish 9’3, a Bonga Perkins 9’6 and a Nah Skwell 7’8″ and I can honestly say that the Lopez would be the board that you would have to fight me for like a proper fight.

As far as peripherals – never had to patch one yet – pumps are good (especially the new one) and although I have had some deck grip peel it’s the easiest thing to stick down again.

Just my opinion – for what it’s worth, hope it helps.

CSX355, Stand Up Forum

 

March 22, 2010
I have owned 4 ULIs- two ULI surfboards and two ULI SUPS. All have been outstanding and used a lot. The LOPEZ 1 is awesome, and is my favorite of them all. Jim and Chris offer as good customer service as I have ever received from anyone in my life, and they, along with Steamroller are a tremendous team. They ARE the original, they are incredibly customer friendly and the LOPEZ 1 surfs well and is very easy to travel with. Sorry I don’t have any experience with the Lopez 2.

ECSUP Stand-UP Forum

 

March 13, 2010
My wife and I just returned from a week in Turks and Caicos, and I took my ULI 9″8″ Lopez 1 in case there was some surf (although Turks and Caicos is known not for having surf because of the offshore reefs surrounding the islands). Anyhow, it blew about 12-25 knots straight onshore everyday, so there was lots of wind chop, but no real surf. So I used the ULI as a distance board, and would paddle straight out off shore into the wind for about two miles and then do a “downwinder” back to the beach. It was great fun and a great workout, but the real point of mentioning all this is that I couldn’t believe HOW UNBELIEVABLY WELL the ULI handled in all the wind and chop. KUDOS TO JIM, CHRIS AND STEAMROLLER!!!!
Also, I brought the three piece Werner Nitro Paddle and it was oustanding. The long thin blade really worked well in the wind, and provided plenty of paddling power.

Standup Forum

 

February 18, 2010
Hey Jim,
finally coming through with the update as have now had the opportunity to test out the board in all manner of conditions. (except being toed behind a jet ski or boat which I am keen to do :)

These are the boards I’ve spent time with to give some perspective.

First board was a Southpoint 11’6″ – sold and moved on- way too big and easy (and Heavy!) for me- who weighs a thumping 64kg.

Second board a Dale Chapman 8’8″ – still own: it rips but dings soo easily!

Third board a C4 Pohaku 10′ – Still own: nice robust all rounder for friends and small surf.

Fourth Board- ULI GLX-1…

If long distance travel were involved the ULI wins hands down because it’s the only board that can make it to the location incident free. But travel aside and local use considered only this is how ULI fares:

The board is good solid fun, and there’s just no doubting that. As a side note before I figured out how to inflate the thing properly I managed to ride and catch waves with the thing with only 4 psi of air in it- freaking hilarious.

The Highs-
I lOVE the indestructible factor behind this board- saves on so many headaches and ding repairs- genius. Especially great to hand over to beginners and not worry about paddle damage or even if they drop it it’s no biggie! :D
I Love the fact that a 10 foot board weighs pretty much the same if not less than my 8’8″ glass SUP.
The board is so light that it paddles very fast, and can be man-handled and swung around quickly by even my light weight self both in and out of the water.
Being full of air it just WANTS to be above the whitewash- this board beats all others I’ve tried hands down in getting out past the breakers.
I like the shallow fins which allow me to cruize over ultra shallow reefs and sandbars on flat water expiditions.

The Curious-
Stability. Depending on conditions this board is incredibly stable to worse than my 8’8″ SUP. I think any instability is bourne of the fact that the board is so light and sits so high in the water that it responds very quickly to surface chop and doesn’t cut or sink into the water very much- just slips around on top of it. Also due to these same factors if one keeps their cool it is possible to recover from seemingly impossible scenarios more often (probably also owing to the deckgrip being quite good).

Giant Drum? Being full of air you can really feel the vibrations of any water slapping the bottom of the board- of course it’s normal to feel water slapping the bottom of your board but with this board it’s amplified to the point where you really notice. You can even feel the water rushing under the board- especially when you take off on a wave, which is kind of cool but also a bit distracting at times.

The Lows-
Despite being usable and rigid at 17psi, the board still flollops around like a fish when you walk or bounce on it. And even some small waves (1 and a half to 2 ft) can get the board to wobbling when you’re riding them. (I assume this is normal for these boards- my instructions recommended not to inflate beyond 17psi so I haven’t…. not yet anyway). Still the wobbling at 17 is a vast improvement on the wobbling experienced at 4psi! :) How high dare I go?

As far as Surfing goes. I could get used to having no rails- and I think that I could really punch out some good maneuvers on this board given how light it is- not to mention getting out the back twice as fast and making some breaks actually possible to surf. However when actually on the wave I want to be surfing and not distracted by a board that is wobbling and humming like a drum, so probably not my choice of wave riding board.

As far as flat water days are concerned the board is currently my go-to board because at the end of the day it’s an amazing piece of work for all the reasons listed above, and just so freaking convenient.

Sorry about the epic length mate, just wanted to make sure I covered everything.

Cheers!

Christopher Brouwer, Australia

 

January 09, 2010
To all at ULI Board . You Have put the fun back in surfing !! there is
nothing better than taking off on a 6 ft wave on a jerry lopez model
and having the fastest ride ever on the swell because this board rides
like a big fat skim board on the wave . there is no resistance as it
rides on top of the water !! it took a little time to get used to the
trim of the board . and now i take it out on every session . it is
very user friendly . it landed on my head and i barely felt it . and
if i hit anyone with it (heaven forbid) im sure it wont hurt them or
their board. thanks to Jim Weir for letting me try all the sizes and
styles of boards before purchase . and for technical help in the art
of standup from his wife , and survival tips from chris(about long
distance offshore cruising !). i am so stoked i have already ordered
another ULI the 14 ft cruiser. every time i offload the board up here
in canada , i get a crowd of amazed surfers . saying they have to get
one of those. then they wait around to see if i can catch waves with
it . and i love to show it off. it is amazing to paddle , it hops over
white water with ease and i can beat the younger surfers back to the
line up.which i never did before . i am 61 and will be riding ULI
at 90. keep up the good work and keep on surfing.

Bill Holmes, Victoria, British Columbia

 

November 09, 2009 2:35 PM
Howdy from Calgary:
It’s been several years since I last contacted you. I own a ULI boogie board and it still in top notch shape, never had a single problem with it. I noticed that your website doesn’t have boogie boards, have you discontinued them? Also, I have one of your original monster heavy duty pumps – do you have a lighter weight model – airlines are so weight concerned these days. Thanks in advance.
Wes Bader
PS. My ULI has been to Australia, Cancun Mx, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ixtapa Mx, and Maui (twice). I prefer it over a solid rental – the flotation is much better and allows me to catch small waves that the other boards can’t.

Wes Bader, Calgary

 

November 09, 2009
Hey Jim,

I’ve got a breakfast meeting in Del Mar on Thursday and will stop in after. Love-love-love the Lopez and fourteen. Got a big smile on my face after every session. I don’t even want to ride the hard boards anymore. Amazing how different the 14 is from the 15 – it really turns nice. Been getting some great waves with Magic on it too.

Chris Koerner, Capistrano Beach, CA

 

October 21, 2009
I’ve had a blast with the board so far.. it’s great in the surf.. but I really enjoy paddling around all the local lakes.. I enjoy it way more than my kayak.

Tim Robichaud , British Columbia

 

September 18, 2009
Aloha Jim,
Got my board. Still waiting for the paddle, but borrowed another in the meantime. Just wanted to tell you how much I love it! The purple top is awesome! I rolled it out on the beach in Kailua-Kona on the Big Island and was getting all sorts of curious looks. I took it out on the water and it performed sweetly! I didn’t fall once as it was very stable and glided over the water so smoothly.
I was very hestitant when I first researched ULI as I thought it would be more flimsy like a raft, but I needed a board to travel inter-island and didn’t want to pay all the baggage fees. I’m so happy I got to try the board while visiting in San Diego. I was impressed and was surprised how well it handled, just like a regular fiberglass board.

Mahalo for everything.

Miranda Dornfeld, Hawaii

 

August 21, 2009
Hi Jim and Chris,
I just wanted to say thanks again for the Lopez ULI. I did paddle out last Friday and caught my first two waves on it. It was very stable and easy to turn. I know it is going to be the best board for the River….Hands Down!. My knee started to hurt and get stiff so I had to come in. Now I am going to wait a bit longer until it gets back to strength. If my wife is still up for it…..I will go for a flat water paddle w/her. I will give you a call to let you know if we can come down to the Bay for a flat water outing. Skip Brown had a new baby girl a few days ago and is excited about his board being shipped. Don’t be surprised….when Skip and I are seen on the River w/those Lopez ULI boards, your phone might start ringing for orders (hopefully). We will send you some pics and vids for sure.

Great to meet you guys!

I will be in touch.

Greg 'Suggs' Miller

 

July 15, 2009
Hi Jim,

I wanted to give you an update on my time with the Lopez. Hands
down , the most fun I’ve ever had on a surfboard!!!!!. Maybe the
most fun I’ve EVER had! The board absolutely RIPS on the waves, is
very stable, and gets in early. Here on the lonely Oregon Coast I’ve
been surfing every kind of wave from knee high to head high plus,
sloppy to steep, and just grinning like the proverbial kid in the
candy store. The buoyant nose prevents pearling and it really turns
off the tail – very much a “shortboard SUP” . It surfs circles
around my Oxbow 11″ and its not going to snap if half like the Oxbow
did on a dredging low tide wave this past January . I am so glad that
happened b/c it led me to ULI- a durable board that is not ever going
to break in half !!!! I expected durabiltiy, didn’t expect the
surfability. My hat is off to you and everyone involved in the design
of the board. THANK YOU!!!

Bottom line – the board certainly lives up to its name, which is say A
LOT Gerry is one of the most influential surfers of all time. I”m
hoping one day to surf with him over in Pacific City, OR, but I
currently spend most of my time on the North Coast( Manzanita area).
If you see him, please extend my respects.

One day I hope to get the Lopez on a plane down to S.D to come surf
with you and Steamroller. Meantime I’m already planning trips to
Mexico and Australia. Also spreading the gospel of ULI Boards up here
in the Pacific NW. I’ve had lots of interest from my surfing friends-
I would’nt be surprised to see some more orders come in from up here
soon.

Anyway, I hope all is well at ULI.

Mahalo.

Nicholas Leonard, Oregon

 

July 9, 2009
Jim,

Hope all is well with the ULI team

My wife and I have been using the boards a lot that we got from you a few months back and I have to say the reaction to people’s faces are absolutely priceless. From when I take the 2 boards out of my little sports car, pump them up in the parking lot then jump on them and go paddling – anyone watching is shocked!

As I mentioned on the forum before, not many people on the east coast know about SUP but we have definitely been turning some heads.

Do you guys have any plans of opening up shop on the east coast in the future?

Jeff Simon, Malvern, PA

 

July 8, 2009
Hi.
Love my board! I’ve ridden like 3 years worth of waves in just a few months with this thing! But I digress…

Could I order a spare pump tube please (connects the hand pump to the board)?

Andrew Pearce

 

June 23, 2009
Thanks guys, we got our 3-piece paddle today just in time for our trip. We appreciate you getting it out to us so quickly and when you said you would. Great customer service! – something that seems to be rare these days.

Jeff McClure, San Clemente, CA

 

June 22, 2009
Just a note to tell you how much fun I had with my ULI in the waters off Waikiki last week. It was 5-8′ (a little too big for me just now!) off-shore winds, picture perfect waves. I was knee-surfing when I finally maned-up and stood up-very stable board. I can’t tell you how many people came up to me when I was inflating the thing. They couldn’t believe how rigid it was when fully blown up. Hope to talk to you soon.

Kit Holdzkom, Waikiki

 

June 12, 2009
My wife and I love our new ULI Stand Up boards. The quality is outstanding and the boards perform wonderfully. I don’t know how these boards could be better!
Thanks you for making such a great product, but thank you even more for providing such great customer service. So nice to deal with a company who not only makes an outstanding product but cares about their customers also. I recommend ULI to everyone and plan to purchase the new Lopez model when it is available. Stoked on ULI!

Lamont Weaver, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

 

May 28, 2009
How’s it going! It’s Ajax here. I wanted to thank you for the ULI. I have been enjoying it in the warm Caribbean Sea for at least an hour everyday. Although I haven’t had a chance to surf, it’s been super fun. I’m getting a good workout from trying out different paddling stances like standing up, half kneeling, tall kneeling and paddling without the paddle. I’m also having a blast from working on cross stepping, quick turns and walking the board. Hopefully, I’ll be ready to surf when the waves pick up.

Ajax Yang, Caribbean Sea

 

May 15, 2009
Hey all. Thanks for getting us started in the SUP world. We already have tremendous
interest. Jim, thanks for all you help answering questions. Your boards are great. Heidi, Dan and Tammy thanks for your good ideas and pointing me in the right
direction. We hope to get some good shots on the river this year. We will pass along.
If any of you make it it out to the North Cascades, let me know, Ill hook you up.

Greg Knab, Flyfishers Pro Shop. Winthrop, WA

 

The greatest thing about the ULI is the wow factor. I paddled into the line up and got the usual stink eye from the crawlers until one of the locals shouts “dude he is on a blow up!” People just could not believe it. 10 minutes later they were hooting and hollering as I dropped in and shouting “nice wave blow up dude” as I paddled back. It was all pretty funny. To sum it all up I cannot imagine a better travel board! The Lopez surfs great, is very stable and can handle anything that I could imagine wanting to surf (your hueveos might be larger than mine). It is light, easy to inflate and deflate, and super well made. I love it! To Jim and the guys at ULI… GREAT JOB!

Sharkbait, April 14, 2009

 

January 20, 2009
Jim & Chris:
I took my new ULI out for a ride around Lido Island in Newport on Saturday. Loved it. Got inflated in 2 minutes and it rode great. Can’t wait to go again.

Don Montgomery, Newport Beach

 

January 28, 2009
I recently got the chance to put an 8′ 6″ board to the test on the beaches of Pacific Panama. I was really impressed! The locals were impressed too! Crowds of locals would gather around to watch it get pumped up then stare in disbelief at how well it caught waves. The rush of air out of the valve at the day’s end would have them erupting in cheers and salutes from the cantina. My only gripe is that the ULI logo on the top was upside down when standing regular on the board. Just a minor aesthetic thing that sits in the mind, I was thinking you should turn the logo perpendicular to the rail and make it a lot smaller to increase the board’s respect factor and to set it apart from soft-tops. Maybe a little less blue on the top as well. I really like the look of the board depicted in the little flash-video on the website, hope that’s where they’re going. It has that old school look to it.

Anyways, aside from some minor aesthetics, the board f—ing rips! I love it.

Keep it up.

LT

Lgurdjia @ uoregon. edu, Panama

 

August 29, 2008
Chris and Jim,

I just wanted to thank you both for shipping that board to Egmont, Canada for me and I wanted to send you a couple of photos from that trip. There are two photos attached of me surfing in BC. I have a lot more photos if you would like to see more.

Next week I am planning on doing the first descent of the New River Gorge on a SUP. As far as I know now one has done this. This is the second oldest river in the world and one of the deepest gorges in the US. It is home to a number of great surf waves through out the gorge. …

Lastly you guys make a great product, that creates incredible experiences. Thank you.

Luke Hopkins, British Columbia

 

August 29, 2008
Hey, I purchased an ULI this past July and had a blast on it tooling around the little slice of heaven called Groton Long Point, CT. Not a lot of wave action but rip currents, wind and choppy seas made my daily paddles a challenge! Paddling is such a different activity than anything else I have ever done. You can get a great workout or you can take it easy and explore. So glad I found ULI! You guys are great!

Pamela Low, Groton Long Point, CT

 

July 26, 2008
Dear Jim & Chris,

What a marvellous product. I use a SUB for surfing, mainly, and frankly my main worry about the 10ft ULI was that it wouldn’t surf very well. I reasoned that there had to be compromise in rocker, rails, rigidity etc and that this might make it difficult to surf. Of course I had seen “Steamroller” on YouTube, but there are some guys that surf so well they’d impress on a biscuit tin in a paddling pool. But the instant I tried the board my fears were over – I got the board at 4pm, was at the beach with it blown up at 4.15pm – 5 mins of which was getting it out of the packaging – paddled straight out and into a waist-high wave and was instantly amazed at how well it surfed. I usually surf a 10 ft performance-oriented epoxy SUB, and whilst I’m not going to suggest that in big, hollow conditions the ULI would be the ultimate choice, it is remarkable how good it is. A mate of mine tried it and was amazed as well. In fact we both noticed that turning for waves was easier and quicker with the ULI than our epoxies.

The other thing is the massive advantage that an inflatable brings in other ways. There is a “bounce” to surfing it, which means that it is kind to your joints, and this can be a big issue if you SUP many hours each week. Gone are the days of worrying about dings on the beach or damage clashing with other boards, and in nasty wipeouts its softness is reassuring. I also found that it paddles very well indeed, and is stable and easy. Lastly, as you will know, it gives you an experience that hard boards don’t: when you are riding the wave there is a kind of swoosh as the water passes over the bottom, which you can kind of feel with your feet. I like this sensation – makes you feel more in touch with the wave. In fact yesterday evening I went for a SUP in small beach break conditions, and chose to take the ULI over either of the epoxy boards I have. Finally, my wife and kids can play with it and when I take them out on the board I don’t have to worry so much about the consequences of capsizing.

Thanks for a lot of fun, already.

Paul Burgess

 

July 14, 2008
Hi Jim

This is just to thank you for taking the time to show us everything we needed to know to use our new ULI SUP. Richard took it with him on a business trip to Lake Norman near Charlotte NC and totally wowed the natives. Loving the New ULI!

LE Wing

 

April 14, 2008
Jim,

Sorry I didn’t reply earlier but I’ve been too busy working a double shift and paddle boarding on your board a minimum of 1.5 hours daily. I would get more time in if I had the time. I love the board totally! Very, very sturdy! I got up and paddled my first shot with relative ease and paddled the length of Ala Moana without falling. This is my first time ever attempting it! I am also a very poor surfer at 6′-5″ and 255 lbs plus. This is perfect for me especially since I commute weekly living in Maui and working in Honolulu. You folks have provided the perfect solution. Thanks Jim for making the ocean so much more enjoyable as well as accessible for the mobile professional such as myself (a huge market exists within this realm). Kudos to you and your team. -BTW- everyone I come into contact with are awestruck with it’s performance. I know a couple of people asking me questions and wanting to borrow it so they could decide if it is for them. No way this is like my new blow up girlfriend. Personal use only j/k. I appreciate your designing it for me individually and adding the composite to float me and perform the way it has been. I thought you had a pile of these things waiting in the shop to be shipped out but, apparently I was wrong. You design your boards according to the individual. It was well worth the small wait. Thanks Jim and mahalo from the Hawaiian Islands.

Mahalo,
Pohai

Pohai, Maui

 

January 27, 2008
Hey Jim,

You should’ve come by the race yesterday (Hanohano Ocean Challenge) – I got 1st place in the 12′ & under SUP division on the ULI. Actually beat a couple 14′ racing boards and finished less than a minute behind one of the new C4 Vortice 14′s. The weather really turned out nice – we had over 230 paddlers in all the divisions and a lot of spectators. I hung out and let a lot of people demo the ULI afterwards too
Thanks again – I’m stoked !

Chris Koerner, Capistrano Beach

 

November 17, 2007
Hi Jim,

I just wanted to let you know how much I like the ULI stand-up. I had a blast with it on Kauai and am looking forward to the spring when I can use it up here in Seattle.

Louis Shields, Seattle

 

November 5, 2007
I learned to surf on the first generation ULIs. We mostly used them to paddle around a quarry lake in Ohio where I lived at the time. But we would also take them to our friends cottage in Lavalette, NJ which actually gets some decent surf. The first time I headed into the designated surf zone the lifeguards whistled and said we had to go to the swimming area. Then as soon as we stood up and were riding the ULIs, they went crazy and made us go back to the surf zone. That was back in 2003. In 2005, I moved to Seattle, put together a quiver of different surfboards and decided I would really learn to surf.

Summer of 2006 I decided to look at the ULI website since it had been awhile. I immediately noticed that they had re-designed the ULIs and they looked more like regular surfboards. I bought the 8’6″ and love it. It’s the best board you could have on the small, mushy days but it holds its own in big surf as well. Here’s an example: Early June 2007 it was 9 foot swell off the coast of Westport, WA. I was in an area known as the Groins because it has a series of stone jetties for erosion controls. I paddled out into a crowd as it was a warm Sunday afternoon with perfect waves. The ULI always gets some odd reactions and this day was no different. At first people were staring at it but not looking at me. Nobody said a word and we were all competing for waves. At one point a perfect wave was coming but its position was such that once you were on the wave you were going to be headed straight for the rocks of one of the jetties. No one else was paddling for it so I decided to hell with it, I’m going. I dropped in and was screaming across the face headed straight for the rocks. I waited till the last second and then turned straight up the face and boosted off the top, got back on the ULI and paddled out of there as fast as I could. As I was approaching the lineup, everyone was looking at me and smiling. There was one kid who was the no. 1 ripper that day who said, “Dude, you are totally charging on that…cork.” I had my choice of waves the rest of the day.

As a footnote, I would like to add that the only time I’ve actually gotten a good tube ride was on the ULI.

Fritz Chess, Seattle

 

February 28, 2007
Hi guys,
Just wanted to drop you a line to tell you about my recent trip to Oz and NZ with my 9′ ULI. Everyone was a skeptic until they saw the board perform or tried it themselves. The beauty of it was that I could surf in virtually any conditions when others were side-lined.
And being able to get around in a compact rental with the whole
family and the board was something to behold!

Great product guys…keep up the good work!

James Alborough, New Zealand

 

April 03, 2006
Hi, Jim, I found a hot surf spot in India. Best spot in India (right point break). I’m the first person to surf it! I had a hard time getting the locals to shoot the right surf shots with my camera, they messed up on the bigger waves. Hope you like what I got. I’ll be in the Philippines in a couple of days. God bless Mike Stafford P.s. The tsunami here was reported by some of the locals as being, not just 15 ft. high, but over 150 ft.high.

Mike Anthony, India